Naming the Lines: Latitude

(Page 5 of 9 pages)
side view - grid The Equator is called "Zero degrees latitude", which is written 0° latitude.

The rest of the lines of latitude are numbered North from 1° North latitude to 90° North latitude, which is the North pole.

The lines below the equator are named the same way, from 1° South latitude to 90° South latitude, which is the South Pole.